Osha 1926 construction standards

What are the OSHA construction standards?

The OSHA standards are divided into four major categories based on the type of work being performed: agriculture (29 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) Part 1928), construction (Part 1926 ), general industry (Part 1910) and maritime (Parts 1915, 1917 and 1918) employment.

What is the name of 29 CFR 1926 regulation?


Who does the CFR 1926 apply to?

OSHA 1910 vs OSHA 1926 To put it simply, the OSHA 29 CFR 1910 regulations detail general industry safety regulations and apply to most worksites. Alternately, the OSHA 29 CFR 1926 standards focus on the construction industry, and identify the specific work-related risks associated with it.

What subpart in OSHA Construction Code of Federal Regulations CFR 1926 addresses fall protection?

1926 Subpart M – Subpart M— Fall Protection | Occupational Safety and Health Administration.

What is OSHA standard for PPE use?

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

• Part Number: 1926
• Standard Number: 1926.28
• Title: Personal protective equipment .
• Applicable Standards : 1910.132(b); 1910.132(c); 1910.136
• GPO Source: e-CFR

What are the OSHA safety standards?

With few exceptions , OSHA requires employers to pay for personal protective equipment when it is used to comply with OSHA standards. These typically include: hard hats, gloves, goggles, safety glasses, welding helmets and goggles, face shields, chemical protective equipment and fall protection equipment.

What is OSHA 29 CFR?

What is OSHA 29 CFR 1910? For reference and enforcement, the rules created by all federal regulatory agencies are collected into a multi-part document called the Code of Federal Regulations ( CFR ). The rules from the Department of Labor, including OSHA’s regulations, are found in Title 29 (Labor) of the CFR .

You might be interested:  Osha 10 hour construction study guide

What are the OSHA top 10 most frequently cited standards?

Fall Protection again tops OSHA’s ‘ Top 10 ‘ list of most frequently cited violations Fall Protection – General Requirements (1926.501): 6,010 violations . Hazard Communication (1910.1200): 3,671. Scaffolding (1926.451): 2,813. Lockout/Tagout (1910.147): 2,606. Respiratory Protection (1910.134): 2,450.

What does 29 CFR stand for?

the Code of Federal Regulations

What are the types of OSHA violations?

There are six specific categories of OSHA violations , each of which carries either a recommended or a mandatory penalty. De Minimis Violations . Other-than-Serious Violations . Serious Violations . Willful Violations . Repeated Violation . Failure to Abate Prior Violation .

Do OSHA construction standards apply to general industry?

You may be surprised at the answer. General industry operations (manufacturing, health care, service, retail, trucking transportation, etc.) are covered under standards contained in 29 CFR 1910, while construction work is governed by 29 CFR 1926 .

What is the difference between OSHA 10 construction and general industry?

OSHA defines ” construction work” as work for construction , alteration and/or repair, including painting and decorating. General Industry refers to any industry not included in construction , maritime or agriculture. It includes (but is not limited to): health care, manufacturing, warehousing, distribution and retail.

What are the 4 methods of fall protection?

There are four generally accepted categories of fall protection : fall elimination, fall prevention , fall arrest and administrative controls.

At what height does OSHA require fall protection?

four feet

What is leading edge fall protection?

Leading edge : The edge of a floor, roof, or formwork for a floor or other walking or working surface (such as the deck) which changes location as additional floor, roof, decking, or formwork sections are placed, formed, or constructed. An example is when installing metal decking for flooring in a multi-story building.